Midsummer

flower-meadow-45346

When I have walked my length of days
And settle in midsummer’s haze
Will I forget my songs of youth
And frantic searches for the truth
That made my life an endless maze?

Will I cease to lay awake and ponder
The things that made my spirit wander
Perhaps the joys and mis-spent sorrow
Of worries I often sought to borrow
And grieve the times I chose to squander?

I will sing those songs that I have kept
And save the tears that I have wept
I will cradle them in my new-born heart
And pray that we will never part
‘ Til the glowing sun from heaven’s swept

© ceg 6/28/08

9 thoughts on “Midsummer

Leave a Reply

